AVID 2014

The 5th Australasian Vaccines & Immunotherapeutic Development Meeting will be held from the 7th - 9th of May 2014 at the Burnet Institute, AMREP Lecture Theatre, Melbourne, Victoria.

Spectacular advances have taken place over the last decade in the areas of pathogen detection and initiation and regulation of immune responses. These advances underpin current efforts to produce new vaccines and immunotherapeutic products to proven or treat infectious diseases, autoimmunity, transplant rejection and cancer. Despite this enormous progress, newly emerging viruses such as H7N9 influenza variants and Sars-like novel corona viruses, that have surprisingly high mortality rates, offer new challenges in treatment and vaccine development resulting in continued efforts in discovery to new frontiers.

As in previous editions, AVID 2014 will provide a forum to discuss emerging concepts in vaccine design and immunotherapeutic drug development, spanning from basic mechanisms to translation and commercialisation.

•    Effector Memory Immune Cells and Vaccination
•    Adjuvants
•    Novel vaccines – dendritic cells, T cells
•    Therapeutic antibodies
•    Emerging infectious diseases – challenges and solutions
•    Innate Immunity
•    Chronic infections
•    Commercialisation of Vaccine and Immunotherapeutic Drugs

Gabrielle Belz (Chair), Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, VIC
Ian Barr, WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza, VIC
Robert Brink, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, NSW
Rosemary French, Burnet Institute, VIC
Rajiv Khanna, Queensland Institute of Medical Research, QLD
Jose Villadangos, The University of Melbourne, VIC


Gabrielle Belz (Chair), Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, VIC
Sylvie Alonso, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Adriana Baz Morelli, CSL Limited, VIC
Phil Darcy, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, VIC
Miles Davenport, University of New South Wales, NSW
Mariapia Degli-Esposti, The University of Western Australia, WA
Cynthia Derdeyn, Emory Vaccine Center, United States
Denise Doolan, Queensland Institute of Medical Research, QLD
Florent Ginhoux,  Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore
Michael Good, Griffith University, QLD
Eric Gowans, University of Adelaide, SA
Murali-Krishna Kaja, Emory University, United States
Graham Le Gros, Malaghan Institute of Medical Research, New Zealand
Chris Parish, Australian National University, ACT
Magdalena Plebanski, Monash University, VIC
John Stambas, CSIRO, VIC
Linfa Wang, CSIRO, VIC